One RC, multiple DC's

Hello,

I am a newbie at OpenGL, and I have a question about devicecontexts.

I’m using Delphi to create OpenGL windows on four different Devicecontexts, resulting in four different viewports. The creation of the OpenGL windows is not a problem, as long as I am using seperate renderingcontexts. Each DC would have one RC assigned to it. Switching between OpenGL windows is accomplished by ‘wglMakeCurrent()’. Ok, untill here no problems.

As I started to expand my application and tried to add textures to the OpenGL objects I noticed something unpleasant. It seems that the instruction ‘glTexImage2D’ creates a texture, but only to the devicecontext and rendering context currently active. It’s possible to load all the textures four times, once for every rendering context. However, this doesn’t seem to be a very efficient way, since all textures would be loaded 4x in memory.

So my question is: Is it possible to create one Rendering context, load all the relevant 3D- and texturedata to this RC, and output this to four different devicecontexts??? And how would I do this?

You look for wglShareLists.
It allows to share names of OpenGL objects among rendering contexts of the same pixelformat (or relaxed: OpenGL implementation).
It shares display lists, texture objects, and some more name spaces (vertex programs etc).
Call it after you have created your rendering contexts and before downloading textures. It doesn’t matter in which context you download, all share the same texture object.

Thanx for the reply! I am gonna try that one! I’ll let you know if it works

Allright, this seems to be working quite fine. However, there is one thing I noticed.

The following code is used to load my texture into memory:

glGenTextures(1, Texture);
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, Texture);
glTexEnvi(GL_TEXTURE_ENV, GL_TEXTURE_ENV_MODE, GL_DECAL); {Texture does NOT blend with object background}
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);