controlling multiple objects - help

Hi, I am really new at this, and I am struggling with some basics, maybe because I have a CAD background. I want to write an app that has a terrain object and multiple vehicles (100 or so) that move independantly from each other. I can grasp the Push/Pop for 2 objects, but how do you manage 100? I am a little lost. How can I select a previously created/displayed object and translate/rotate it when I am not tracking which matrix put it there originally?

Any assistance would be very much appreciated

The push/pop is the same as if for 2 or 1000 objects.

Use array varaibles to store your objects position.

create a object processing routine in your display routine

example

for (i = 0; i < total_objects, i++)
{
glPushMatrix();
glTranslatef(obj[i].x,obj[i].y ,obj[i].z);
glRotatef(obj[i].angle_x, 1, 0, 0);
glRotatef(obj[i].angle_y, 0, 1, 0);
glRotatef(obj[i].angle_z, 0, 0, 1);

draw_obj(obj[i].type); // number to tell what object to draw, 0 = car, 1 = plane, 2 = house, etc

glPopMatrix();
}
// the for loop process’s drawing all of our objects

Hope this helps

Originally posted by Kim Adil:
[b]Hi, I am really new at this, and I am struggling with some basics, maybe because I have a CAD background. I want to write an app that has a terrain object and multiple vehicles (100 or so) that move independantly from each other. I can grasp the Push/Pop for 2 objects, but how do you manage 100? I am a little lost. How can I select a previously created/displayed object and translate/rotate it when I am not tracking which matrix put it there originally?

Any assistance would be very much appreciated[/b]