Vertex Array Limit?

I am attempting to render some terrain using Vertex Arrays. If I send more than 50,000 vertices at a time my program crashes. I was wondering if this is a limit on how many you can send at a time. It is not a problem to batch the vertices in smaller sizes but I am wondering how to ask OpenGL what the limit is.

I think it a limit with vertex arrays,it can only contain 65000 vertex.

soo u need to split it up!

I think for any array, vertices, texture coordinates, normals, etc…
there’s a 65535 limit. But I haven’t found any GL functions that
returns this value. I’m just assuming it as I have some experience
with other 3D graphics APIs. I’m also assuming this is a hardware
limitation, and I wouldn’t know if OpenGL did something special
in software if you exceeded this limit.

Here is a follow-up question. My help files for OpengGL say that the 3rd parameter in glDrawArrays is the count of how many “indices” are to be rendered. I have 1 indice into my array for each of the x, y, and z coord’s for each vertex. I take it the count parameter in glDrawArrays is the count of how many vertices and not indices into my array right? Also I can send exactly 50,000 vertices in glDrawArray and crashes on 50,001 so I would think that somewhere there would be a parameter or something that returns this number. Hopefully? If anyone knows I would appreciate a response…Thanks

an “index” as openGL calls it is a vertex. so, for instance, you have 4 vertexes in the array, thats 12 actuall elements in the array, but if you want to draw the first vertex, you refer to it as 0, and gl accesses the first, second, and third element in the actual array (assuming the array only contains vertex data). for the second, its 1, and that the fourth, fith, and sixth, etc. so, basically, yes, how many verticies, not indicies.