View Full Version : quads slower than triangles?

04-25-2005, 09:04 PM
Even that at the end everything gets "triangulated".. is the usage of quads slower than triangles? im asking this because my mesh loader is only supporting quads for now (the format Im using supports this) and I know its not good to support triangulated data, BUT.. im just starting with this loader, anyway I wanted to know if quads in opengl are very slow or slower than triangles itself ?

04-25-2005, 10:04 PM
Hi !

One quad is two triangles, on the other side, one quad only requires 4 vertices so the amount of data sent down the pipe line is almost the same, you could always try and see, but I don't think you will see much difference in performence.


04-25-2005, 10:36 PM
i think a quad is usually internally converted into a triangle strip with 4 vertices. if you draw it with GL_TRIANGLES, you'll need 6 vertices instead.