MFC and OpenGL?

HI,
Right now I’m just learning MFC, and I was wondering what impact MFC has on OpenGL? Is it compatible with OpenGL? Does it enhance it in Windows? Is it better to use MFC with OpenGL, or better to use OpenGL without MFC? There are too many questions on my mind, so if you know anything about the relation of these two, post it.

1: “Is it compatible with OpenGL?”

Yes.

2: “Does it enhance it in Windows?”

… Enhance OpenGL? No, MFC has no effect on the function of OpenGL.

3: “Is it better to use MFC with OpenGL, or better to use OpenGL without MFC?”

Define better.

If you doing a lot of Windows oriented stuff (like, for instance, a modeller that uses OpenGL to draw the model, but has a lot of Windows controls, toolbars, etc), then it is better to use MFC because it makes interfacing with Windows easier than using the Win32 API.

However, if you’re writing a high-performance application (like, for instance, a game) that uses precious little Windows interface, then using the Win32 API would be a good idea. MFC, with or without OpenGL, adds some non-insignificant overhead to a program. If you’re dealing with Windows stuff a lot, then the overhead is worth it for what MFC provides. Otherwise, use Win32.

Hi,

You might have a look at my MFC & OpenGL website.
http://pws.prserv.net/mfcogl/

Joel

When I mean better, is it easier to use MFC? For now, I’m planning to learn MFC anyway because I want to do a few Windows Apps with the toolbar stuff, but my main goal is to make a full-screen 3D game like Half-Life or Final Fantasy VIII. I heard you all say something about Win 32. Does that mean I have to learn Windows Programming? I wanted to learn MFC because I didn’t want to do every detail of Windows programming, just the important stuff to get my stuff running. Also, is it possible to take out the toolbars and stuff and use MFC to make a full-screen game w/o toolbars, status bars, etc… I read in my MFC book that it is possible to do that.