Multiple Objects

Situation: I am tyring to create a real basic graphics editor. There are two predefined 3D objects that the user can insert into the editor via a mouse menu. The editor starts out blank. Insert puts new objects centered at the origin. The problem I have is how do I store the objects? (an array of pointers of what data type?) This is stumbling me. I want calls to display() to iterate through an array and generate each object. You don’t know how many you have since it depends on how many are inserted by the user. You start out with none. Thanks in advance for all help and feedback.

I’m new to OpenGL…but I believe what may help you is a display list. The only other thing which I think may help you is if you go on the Nate Robbins Site and Download his modelling tutorials. I’m sorry I can’t be of much more help than this!

You can use display lists… or you can write a container class that contains an array of pointers to a generic class Object3D that defines an abstract method display (and others like create, scale, ecc), then inherit all types of obj (spheres, cubes, and so on). You can easily make the container class array resizable managing only the pointers.

Teofuzz is right ; use a CObject3D class and derive all you other objects from it. Then create your abstract Render class…

Eric

P.S. : you need to use C++ (or perhaps Java ? Don’t know it…) for that…

Where can one find the Cobject3D class? And what about this “render class” how do the two relate to one another? I’m really interested in this because so far, I’ve only seen proceedural © implementations of OpenGL and am beginning to wonder just how easy it is to do ANY sort of object-oriented implemtation of OpenGL. Honestly, I don’t know why someone doesn’t start with OO in their examples since that’s the way to go these days anyway. Also, could someone post a link to the “Nate Robbins” site mentioned earlier? Thanks!