doubt in blending

hi,
i’m a newbie in Opengl and i have a doubt in blending. please tell if the procedure i follow is correct for blending. first i draw all the opaque objects and then in the last i draw the object to be transparent. I’m using GLUI for interface. so i have to check the state of the checkbox and enable and disable the blending. hence just before draw the transparent object (and after drawing the opaque objects), i check the state of the checkbox and enable blending.

here is the piece of code doing that:

if(blend)
{
glBlendFunc(GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA);
glColor4f(1.0f,1.0f,1.0f,0.5f);
glEnable(GL_BLEND);
glDepthMask(GL_FALSE);
}
else
{
glBlendFunc(GL_ONE, GL_ZERO);
glColor4f(1.0f,1.0f,1.0f,0.0f);
glDisable(GL_BLEND);
glDepthMask(GL_TRUE);
}

now heres the problem, in the output, i see a additional black inner object(the one which is opaque).this black object is stationary.so when i rotate the object when in blend mode, the black object interferes with the rotating opaque object.

I hope you understand what i mean. i think there must be something wrong in specifying the source and destination factors in glBlendFunc(). please tell me the error.

thanx

It seems globally corect.
But the change in glBlendFunc is not useful : leave it to src_alpha etc, if blending is disabled, blendFunc is not used.

One thing though : your transparent objects have to be drawn from back to front. Yes, it is a pain is the neck.
And why your alpha color is 0.5 ? why not 1.0 ?

For the problem with you ‘black object’, well I do not quite understand what you mean. You may draw it 2 times ?

Hope it helps.

hi,

actually, i kept the alpha value 0.5 to make the object appear transparent.

as for the black object, i tried glDepthMask(GL_TRUE) and it worked. the wierd black object just disappered. but how is this possible?