PDA

View Full Version : newbee question about glClear...



Heimdall
11-19-2002, 02:34 AM
Hi everyone,

why am i forced to clear the buffers?
I suspected that i could just "overdraw" the last drawing operation. But when i tried and removed the glClear command from the source-code, the display was not updated correctly.

thanks for your help

Nutty
11-19-2002, 04:04 AM
You dont have to clear the color buffer, if your rendering covers the whole screen. But you still need to clear the Z buffer, or the majority of the scene wont be rendered again after the 1st frame. Because it will be comparing the depth values of the last frame, not of a clean Z buffer.

Nutty

Heimdall
11-19-2002, 08:35 AM
Thank you very much...

HEIMDALL