PDA

View Full Version : Question



BGM
06-30-2000, 12:09 PM
I know this doesnt pertain to the forum really but i bet some one here knows the answer to my question so please answer me. MY question is a I downloaded Quake 3 Arena and it wont start because i ghet an error and the error says


Q3 1.11 win-x86 Nov 29 1999
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
C:\Q3Ademo/baseq3

----------------------

Running in restricted demo mode.

----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
C:\Q3Ademo\demoq3\pak0.pk3 (1387 files)
C:\Q3Ademo/demoq3

----------------------
execing default.cfg
execing q3config.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
...detecting CPU, found x86 (P5/Pentium2, MMX)

------- Input Initialization -------
Initializing DirectInput...
Couldn't set DI coop level
Falling back to Win32 mouse support...
Joystick is not active.
------------------------------------
----- Client Initialization -----
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
--- Common Initialization Complete ---
Winsock Initialized
Opening IP socket: localhost:27960
Hostname: computer
IP: 209.163.39.180
WARNING: IPX_Socket: socket: NO ERROR
Working directory: C:\Q3Ademo
----- R_Init -----
Initializing OpenGL subsystem
...initializing QGL
...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\opengl32.dll' ): succeeded
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using desktop display depth of 32
...calling CDS: ok
...registered window class
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 32, 24, 8 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 32, 24, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using colorsbits of 16
...calling CDS: ok
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
...assuming '3dfxvgl' is a standalone driver
...initializing QGL
...WARNING: missing Glide installation, assuming no 3Dfx available
...shutting down QGL
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem


Can some one just tell me how to make the gamne work PLZ...Thank you!! I think it has something to do with all of this Open GL **** SO some one give me a hand please....thank you

Rob The Bloke
06-30-2000, 01:25 PM
It looks as though it can't find a suitable graphics card that uses openGL. What card do you have? does it support openGL? or is it a 3dfx glide card ?

If you read through what its printed, it says it can't find an openGL driver, so it switched to using glide(voodoo) drivers which then failed, so it exited.

If your card should be able to support openGL, download the latest drivers because that will probably sort it out. If it doesn't, then I'm afraid there is not much you can do. http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/frown.gif

BGM
06-30-2000, 09:03 PM
ok thanks ill try getting the drivers because I know i have an ATI Rage Graphics Card and i think it should be able to handle this because it is a fairly new computer thanks