directx vs opengl ?????

well…
this question is directed to anyone that has work with either one or be better if both of the above

i have just started a project
which requires me to make a 3D game
(im totally new to graphic or such programming)
im recommended to use opengl
but directx is viable too
(so far, the resources provided to me are all opengl tutorials and source code)
but i will like to know
if there are any major differences between them ?

i have played quite a number of 3D games
and im often prompt to install/update directx
i have never come across opengl that often
in my gaming

does this means that directx is more suited for game programming ?? (i have no idea)
are there any comparison charts available on this ???

need enlightenment
(pls pardon me if anything above mention is out of point or not associated. im very new to this)

1st-
OpenGL is API based, this means it contains only fuctions to call.

DX is COM based, you also need basilar skill on COM objects.

2nd-
GL is cross-platform(linux, mac, win…)

DX is Microsoft only

3rd-
John Carmak mostly (or only?) uses OpenGL.

4th-
In Opengl I took 5-6 months to know well
its foundamentals.
In DX I took 2 years to draw a pixel

Anyway I don’t know if DX is better or worser than GL

Hi !

Please do a search in this forum, the topic has been discussed a huge number of times in the past.

Mikael

People seem to forget that DirectX contains more than just drawing components, but anyway…

Searches are a wonderful thing.

-Mezz

OpenGL is just a graphics API.

DirectX is a whole toolbox of game related COM based programming “modules”.

Direct3d - graphics
DirectSound - sound
DirectInput - joysticks, keyboard, mouse, etc
DirectPlay - network

Just because you use OpengGL doesn’t exlude you from using DirectSound, DirectInput, DirectPlay.

If you have to support any OS besides Microsoft you basically have to use OpenGL.

If you don’t know how to use COM OGL might be a better choice for a faster start.