New to OpenGL - edge of world questions

I have a scene, which is a field with some trees. When I get to the edge of the map, the movement scoots sideways instead of forward. The texture seems to go on forever. Is there a way to put a “fence” at the edge of the world to indicate where it is? Here is the code that draws the ground. As I said, I’m really new to OpenGl and I don’t know what the glLockArraysEXT really does. Any helpful hints would be appreciated. Thanks!

void DrawGround()
{
  // select the ground texture
  glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, g_ground);
  glTexEnvf(GL_TEXTURE_ENV, GL_TEXTURE_ENV_MODE, GL_MODULATE);
  if (glLockArraysEXT)
    glLockArraysEXT(0, MAP_X * MAP_Z * 6);

// loop through all the triangle strips
  for (int z = 0; z < MAP_Z-1; z++)
  {
    // draw the triangles in this strip
    glDrawElements(GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP, MAP_X * 2, GL_UNSIGNED_INT, &g_indexArray[z * MAP_X * 2]);
  }

// if the compiled arrays extension is available, unlock the arrays
  if (glUnlockArraysEXT)
    glUnlockArraysEXT();
} // end DrawGround()  

Hmmm not sure if I understood you correctly but could it be that you dont clear the colorbuffer?

I second the motion for a clarification of the question. Are you talking about a visual fence, or a physical ( object collision ) one?

I am talking about a visual fence. I cleared the color and depth buffer and still the ground seems to go on forever. I can walk in the -z direction for a time and then run into an invisible wall (my world boundaries?) The same happens with the -x, x and z directions. I can see objects I randomly created outside this area, but cannot walk up to them. On a vertex array, how do I found out what the coordinates are for the outer boundary?

The map’s specified size is X=16, Z=8, scale = 25.0f

(BTW: I’m modifying example code in the Prima Tech’s Game Development series on OpenGL Game Programming)

Thanks again

I’m still having trouble visualizing your problem. But i’ll go out on a limb with a guess.