Quick Question

Hello Everyone,

First, since I just joined, I might as well introduce myself. My name is Preston “NWC_Omega” Chaderton. I have been programming since Christmas of 2002. My primary language of choice is Dark Basic Professional. But I am looking to change that. For christmas of 2003 I got Microsoft Visual C++ .net Standard Edition 2003 and with it the ability to program OpenGL. It is only up to now that I have even bothered to make any progress with it, considering I have school and another project in DBPro I’m working on (which is a 3D modeller I’ve named Kaiser3D (that is until someone tells me that the name is taken and cannot be found with a google search, its old name was Decoy3D until I was notified by Desgraff and was notified the name was taken (and ever since I’ve searched high and low for someone else using the name Kaiser3D to no discovery of it being used))).

Now, I’ve started from NeHe’s OpenGL tutorials. They have helped me along quite well, but one thing confuses me. Controlling the viewpoint. Before I’ve been acustomed to controlling the viewpoint (or camera) using simple commands such as position camera (camera),(x position),(y position),(z position) and rotate camera (camera),(x angle),(y angle),(z angle). But I just cannot completely grasp the concept of positioning the camera first and then drawing the world out onto the scene one triangle (or quad) at a time based on the cameras location, I’ve just been too used to it otherwise. So, my question is, are there any other commands (other than glTranslatef and glRotatef) that I am not aware of that could help me with this (such as positioning the camera after the world has been layed out)? If there is, could you please tell me what it is, and its full syntax (and explanation of variables with names that are not completely clear)? Thanks in advance for all that do.

Cheers,
Preston