how to get user input

I am a real beginner. I am reading a sample code in a book. The sample draws some points and the book says the user can use certain keys(it doesn’t mention which keys) to rotate the angle to view these points. But the parameter(rotation angle) to call the rotate function is a variable which has not been declared anywhere(so the program cannot run). If it is as the book says, the variable should be related to a user input. How and where to declare this variable? and how related it to the user input ?e.g.
if(a key is hit)
{
the rotation agle++;
}
The platform is VC++, console application.

Thank you

Liuya

This is called an example code, the auther of the book expects you know how to program with VC.

With an understanding for VC, this bit of code becomes clear on the usage.

When he speaks of key’s in which the user will press, he is talking in relative terms. The key can be any key in which you as the programmr wants to use.

You maybe want to look at some full program code.
nehe.gamedev.net has some good tutoring programs on how to program with openGL.

Originally posted by beginner620824:
[b]I am a real beginner. I am reading a sample code in a book. The sample draws some points and the book says the user can use certain keys(it doesn’t mention which keys) to rotate the angle to view these points. But the parameter(rotation angle) to call the rotate function is a variable which has not been declared anywhere(so the program cannot run). If it is as the book says, the variable should be related to a user input. How and where to declare this variable? and how related it to the user input ?e.g.
if(a key is hit)
{
the rotation agle++;
}
The platform is VC++, console application.

Thank you

Liuya[/b]

yes, thanks.
In fact later that night i found nehe.gamedev.net which is really helpful. It answered most of my questoins.