3D Modelling

i am trying to create a four child windows that each one shows XY, YZ, XZ, and perspective for a modelling project i am doing…is the gluLookAt all i need to use to do this? and any extended help on how to implement it would be great too, i just need help defining the viewing

use one window but use 4 different glViewpoints

is that a function?
give me an example?
i am new at this…thank u

Go with the 4 view, but for the first three views, try to turn off perspective, because who can make a precise 3D model with perspective enabled on the modeling views? Definitely not me! Then back ends would look big in the end, and would create a MASSIVE not-so-popular problem. (ie, no one would use it) Just my two bits (first one is on, the other is off, just so ya know )

You should give the user an option to view the other side in each modeling view (I have always wanted that in a modeler…) You’d still be seeing the same plane, so it shouldn’t be too much trouble. Also have a way to describe a 3D file format so that someone could use your program to read/write to ANY format. It would make for an EXCELLENT converter/editor then! I play Descent 3 a lot, and I want to make a ship MOD with a model from Descent 2… a good purpose for your editor already! And if you do a good enough job, I could even use it to do my levels!

so ok, i use orthognal views for XY, YZ, and XZ…i use one window but with 4 panes in it…now comes the fun stuff…how do i use gl to create the views of those three viewpoints. that is what i do not know…i assume for the perspective i use the perspective view, but again i am not sure i am clear on how to set that up…i have looked for stuff everywhere, but nothing that does a good job explaining…by the way…i am planning on plugins as dlls including import and export dlls so anyone could write a plugin for any kind of model or level or whatever… please help with the code part here!

You have two possibilities: