help

hi,
thanx alot for your help. i went to a number of sites for the download and found the opengl multipipie sdk 1.2 free for download. i also found the mesa3d sdk.
BUT

(1)- at the sgi website i found out that for running opengl there should be IRIX 6.5 installed on my system…what is that?..i’m using windows 98

(2)- is this exactly the same sdk u are talking about because there were other related products on the sgi website available for download?

(3)- is opengl 1.4 or 1.3 sdk available for purchase only or free for download … if free then where is it?

sorry if this mail bothers you…but please help me , i’m a newbie.

bye

Irix is a version of unix that runs on silicon graphics workstations. If sgi says you need it to run openGl then you are at the wrong site. They must be talking about sgi specific things. You can most certianly run openGL on windows 98 unless your graphics card doesnt support it. Most do however. OpenGl 1.4 is not avaliable as far as I know but if anyone knows that it is please let me know as well.

check the link - opengl kit for windows - http://www.berkelium.com/OpenGL/sgi-download.html

as for as i know opengl kit is free

goodluck

SGI supports a Linux/unix type os system, and on there system those things are needed for openGL.
www.openGL.com is hosted by SGI for OpenGL support on all OS systems.

For windows openGL support comes from Microsoft which currently only supports version 1.2, but the video card makers with have support of newer openGL 1.3 and 1.4 extensions in the video card drivers.

Due to the lack of openGL windows support by Microsoft, there is no SDK per say for or support anything above 1.2, but Microsoft does ship with the Visual C++, the openGL 1.2 librarys.

If you go to sites like ATI and nvadia, you can find examples of how to access the newer openGL features not supported on the windows platform, via using openGL extension.