Materials & Light behave differently on different machines

Hi,

I have a difficult problem with my 3D application, especially since I have little knowledge of how lighting and materials really work.

I am drawing several scaled cubes on screen. LIGHT0 is activated, with default properties. For the cubes material I use :

float color2[] = {1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f, 0.90f};
glMaterialfv(GL_FRONT_AND_BACK, GL_AMBIENT_AND_DIFFUSE, color2);

The problem is that the cubes seem to have different colors depending on the machine. On two windows machines with ATI X700 graphic cards, the cubes appear really white. However, on linux machines with nvidia cards at university, on a windows machine with an intel integrated card, and on another windows machine equipped with a nvidia, the pure white color is shown… gray.

Light and depth test are enabled, but not blending or anything else.
I suppose the problem is related to the cards’ drivers, maybe affecting default parameters for light or materials ? However I do not want to say “update your drivers if you want this to work”, since I believe that even 5 years ago, lights and texturing should have been working just as well as now. Maybe it’s just the parameters of my lights or materials.

I know it’s not easy to figure out what the problem is without seeing it, but I would really appreciate some help :slight_smile:

Thanks,
Michael

PS : I forgot to say that the cubes were drawn with GLUT, so normals are set. A similar cube displayed without glut had the same color problem, so GLUT can’t be at fault.

are you using glScale for the scaling ? If so you might want to call glEnable(GL_NORMALIZE) and see if that fixes the lighting issues.

GL_NORMALIZE was enabled as well, though I didn’t think the length of normals could affect lighting (isn’t direction the only important factor ?). I forgot to mention it, sorry :slight_smile:

I just managed to shorten the difference of colors between the two sets of machines.