Engines

I am not going to say i am good or anyone is good, but look at this:

if i would ask,
is a good engine possible to make(like q3a)
i think you all would say like noooo never cause you all think those guys are gods or something(as i read from other topics) but here’s the deal:

They are no gods!
ok they are really good,
but if YOU have the TIME and the STUFF you can be as good! all it needs is your interests and your money

i am not saying that you learn it in a finger snip(5 months) yes it can take 5 years before your engine may run at 60 FPS not KB/S

but if you like 3D Engine programming, you will take the time for it

i am just a starting programmer

but i think it’s about this way.

Don’t yell at me if i am wrong

Cya

Jan

[This message has been edited by Janneke (edited 02-24-2001).]

I think you mean 60 fps (frames per second) instead of 60kb/s.

Although it may be possible to make a game like Q3 if you are very good with all aspects of games programming; good coder, good artist/musician/sound effect engineer, excelent mathsand physics, and AI skills and you had the time and money to buy expensive resouces (3d studio max) and about 5 five years fulltime to spend on it by the time it is finished (5 years) it would be useless compared to the competition ( quake 5 or something).
The only way to do it in a short time would be to hire several other people. With a team of twelve or so it might be possible in 18 months or so to complete a game. However what you have just done is created a company like ID or whatever and alot of the work wouldn’t be your own. Even then think of how many profesional games never make it becuase the are c**p.

The key to making your own game engine is to do your best and to have fun doing it.

I AGREE!

well
i am almost 16 years old so i may have a futur in the game programming?

well
anyways

yes that was what i mean (fps not KB/s) a bit mistake(i am working with both )

CYA
Jan

And what if you want to be a prof. in it?