weird linker problems in DevC++

I am a newbie to opengl, and haven’t even compiled one program using it because my compiler keeps giving me these weird linker errors.

I put all needed .h and .lib files where needed (C:\Dev-Cpp\include and C:\Dev-Cpp\lib).

Here is the specific program in question, although very similar problems are present in all other gl code i tried to compile:

#include <windows.h>

#include <GL/glut.h>
#include <GL/gl.h>

int main(int argc, char **argv) {
	glutInit(&argc, argv);
	glutInitDisplayMode(GLUT_DEPTH | GLUT_SINGLE | GLUT_RGBA);
	glutInitWindowPosition(100,100);
	glutInitWindowSize(320,320);

glClearColor (0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0);
glClear (GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);
glColor3f (1.0, 1.0, 1.0);
glOrtho(0.0, 1.0, 0.0, 1.0, -1.0, 1.0);
glBegin(GL_POLYGON);
glVertex3f (0.25, 0.25, 0.0);
glVertex3f (0.75, 0.25, 0.0);
glVertex3f (0.75, 0.75, 0.0);
glVertex3f (0.25, 0.75, 0.0);
glEnd();
glFlush();
//UpdateTheWindowAndCheckForEvents();
}

and here are the linker’s complaints:

C:\DOCUME~1\LEV~1.WOW\LOCALS~1\Temp\ccCccaaa.o(.text+0x1c) In function `glutInit_ATEXIT_HACK': 
  [Linker error] undefined reference to `__glutInitWithExit@12' 
 C:\DOCUME~1\LEV~1.WOW\LOCALS~1\Temp\ccCccaaa.o(.text+0x3d) In function `glutCreateWindow_ATEXIT_HACK': 
  [Linker error] undefined reference to `__glutCreateWindowWithExit@8' 

There are a lot more. Basically linker complaints about every gl and glut function.

I am at a loss here, and all of this is very frustrating and confusing.

Seasons Greetings

Linking to the gl/glut dll’s require the .lib files to be added to the additional libraries in the projects settings, this tells the compiler how to handle the functions in the dll.

hope this helps

regards

dasraiser

In VC++ i write the following commands to link the OpenGL libraries to my project

#pragma comment( lib, “opengl32.lib” )
#pragma comment( lib, “glu32.lib” )
#pragma comment( lib, “gluaux.lib” )
#pragma comment( lib, “glut32.lib” )

-Ehsan-