Why a normal to a vertex?

This is a question that’s killing me - I’m a mathematician and therefore understand well the concept of a normal to a surface, but why in OpenGL is there suddenly the concept of normals to a VERTEX? Why in the world would you want to declare a normal to a vertex? What do you gain from being able to do that?

I would really appreciate any detail at all, this one’s killing me.

Thanks

Say you had a duodecahedron (polyhedron with 20 triangular faces) and you wanted to calculate the normals for it you would as you say have a normal per face. However, if that same duodecahedron were actually an attempt to model a sphere then you want the normal per vertex. Because continuous surfaces can only be emulated but lighting and other phenomena (perhaps - I don’t know what else uses normals) can be more realistic thereby making the entire image look more realistic.

if you are confused with settinh normals for each vertex, you could use something like this

glNormal3f(a,b,c);
render_my_polygon_now();
glNormal3f(d,e,f);
render_another_polygon_now();

hmm… it could be problem to use this with vertex array…

but assigning normal to each vertex is great. because normals don’t have to be perpendicular to polygon. for example when you are drawing spehere, normals lie on line connecting center of sphere and vertex which are you currently drawing. this produces smooth lighting which isn’t broken of face edges… uff (what a horrible english )

Thanks. That kinda makes sense I guess. I guess I just need to start playing around with it.

So if I’m rendering, for example, a rectangular prism would I have anything to gain from declaring vertex normals over surface normals? And to further muddy the waters, if I rendered the rectangular prism without doing any vertex sharing it would actually be 24 vertices so I could actually have 24 vertex normals - any reason to do 24 vertex normals as opposed to 8?

Thanks again

@DalTXColtsFan