PDA

View Full Version : Does Glut is too slow to make 3D engine with it?



Bestel
05-29-2001, 07:25 AM
I would like to know if glut functions are optimised to make 3D engine for games... and if it wouldn't be better to make my own function?

05-29-2001, 02:04 PM
It is just a platform independent framework. If you use it the right way should you not get any speed decrease. Be careful how you treat keyboard input. The main problem is perhaps that it is limited and not so easy to extend.

zed
05-29-2001, 02:46 PM
a couple of programs that use glut www.blender.nl (http://www.blender.nl) www.planetquake.com/aftershock (http://www.planetquake.com/aftershock)