Few questions concerning camera..

Well… I’m fairly new to OpenGL but have a strong background in programming and such… Although, I’m still getting used to the whole model view matrix and such… But anyway, right to the questions…

1. If I use gluLookAt with the camera, will any and all translates after that only effect the modelling coordinates and retain the camera in the same position…

2. Would it be better to create a world by using normal translates and rotates w/ combinations of push and pops to keep the desired view, or should I just use gluLookAt?

3. If I seem confused, I’d appreciate any help to steer me in the right direction. Thanks

~Dave

Hi,

gluLookAt will set up a transformation to take the camera from it defined location at the origin looking down -z axis to some point you specifiy. You’re “effectively” moving the camera, but you’re not, really. Hold this thought; next train of thought: if you’re in a train and look out the window and see the neighbouring train move, are YOU moving, or is the other train moving? OK, it might be important to know this if you’re on the train (because they TAKE you places, you know <nods wisely> ), but the visual effect is the same. Anyway, back to the previous train of thought… you’re not really moving the observer to the new place, but rather moving the WORLD around the observer. (so, the camera is sitting in a stationary train, and the neighbour train is the thing that’s moving, but its still giving the camera the impression of being moved around).

The trick behind the glLookAt, then, is to initialise the modelview matrix stack with the camera transform first… so the entire world is moved after its been set up to accomdoate moving the observer around the place. So, in answer to your first question: your gluLookAt isn’t moving the camera, anyway; and it will only affect the modelling coordinates, because that’s what it does.