gluLookAt()

Hi!

I’ve been trying to decode the meaning of the “up” vector in the gluLookAt() but I seem to be getting nowhere :confused:

If I understand this right, by specifying the three vectors as input arguments for the gluLookAt, one defines the camera coordinate system’s location and orientation, so the first vector is the coordinate system centre, the second vector is the view direction which is basically the camera c. sys. z-axis direction, and the third one is the “up” vector, which locks the angle at which the camera is tilted when looking in the view direction. Can this third vector be interpreted as the y-axis of the camera’s c. system?

It seems intuitive but the problem is that from the Redbook example I studied I found that the view direction vector and up vector are not necessairily perpendicular, which ruins my theory about the up vector and the y-axis…

Apologies for the length… Does anyone have a more intuitive explanation about the connection between the up vector and camera’s coordinate system?

Thank you!

Spela

Originally posted by Spela:
[b]Can this third vector be interpreted as the y-axis of the camera’s c. system?

It seems intuitive but the problem is that from the Redbook example I studied I found that the view direction vector and up vector are not necessairily perpendicular, which ruins my theory about the up vector and the y-axis…
[/b]
You are correct when you say that the up-vector is the Y-axis of the camera. It is the direction, in world space, the camera’s up is.

However, as you say, the up-vector need not be perpendicular to the view vector, and that can be confusing. The reason is that the up-vector is not really the final up-vector.