Vertices Selection (PLEASE HELP)

PLEASE HELP,

I know I have asked this before, but I seem to be getting nowhere so I hope some kind person out there has had this same problem and can help.

I have an image being rendered in OpenGL that is composed of Points and Lines (built using Display Lists) and would like the user to be able to select a particular point with the mouse.

I read a little on Picking with OpenGL but I can find nothing on selecting vertices, only a singular object. Is there ANY way to select an individual (or series) of vertices in OpenGL with a mouse click? Using the GL_SELECT mode would be great except I need finer granularity (at the vertex point (X, Y, Z), not the polygon/object level). I have even tried using the feedback mode, but just generally get errors.

I am new to OpenGL (with still a lot to learn), so if anyone could provide some simple example code that would be great. However, at this point ANY help would be wonderful.

Thanks in advance.

P.S. The images being rendered could be quite large (e.g.,

for point selection i usually use gluProject, like this:

typedef struct Point { double x, y, z; };
Point   P[123];
int     num_points = 123;

int PickPoint(int mouse_x, int mouse_y) {
 double         d, dx, dy, dmin = 1.e20;
 GLdouble       mm[16], pm[16];
 GLint          vp[4];
 double         wx, wy, wz;
 int            picked_point = -1;

glGetDoublev(GL_PROJECTION_MATRIX, pm);
 glGetDoublev(GL_MODELVIEW_MATRIX, mm);
 glGetIntegerv(GL_VIEWPORT, vp);

for(int i = 0; i < num_points; i ++) {
        gluProject(P[i].x, P[i].y, P[i].z, mm, pm, vp, &wx, &wy, &wz);
        dx = (double)mouse_x - wx;
        dy = (double)(vp[3]-mouse_y) - wy;
        d  = dx*dx + dy*dy;

if(d < dmin) {
                dmin = d;
                picked_point = i; } }

return(picked_point); }