Newbie - depth test not working - probably me

Hi guys

I am new to OGL and have hacked together some code to display a 3D poly model with scalar values at vertex points.

Wow - OGL is great stuff.

Anyway I cant get depth testing to work at the mo.

The culling is working but I can “see” faces that should be hidden by depth testing.

Am I missing something?

Here is an incomplete code snippet (VB)

Thanks for your time

Julian

================================

'Hidden face removal
glEnable glcCullFace    
glEnable glcDepthTest

Sub Render()

glClear GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT Or GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT Or GL_STENCIL_BUFFER_BIT

'Now display a black wireframe
glPolygonMode faceFront, pgmLine

glPushMatrix
    glRotatef angleY, 0.1, 0#, 0#
    glRotatef angleX, 0#, 0.1, 0#
    glCallList triangl_list2
glPopMatrix

SwapBuffers pbOGL.hDC

End Sub

I don’t have much experience with Visual Basic, but the code looks right. Are you sure you’re not seeing the faces you’re not supposed to see, because some backface is culled (thus exposing what’s behind it?) Can you post a screenshot?

Hmm, now that I remember. When you create your window, are you requesting a depth buffer? Depending on the implementation, sometimes you get it without asking for it, but sometimes you don’t, which could lead to this sort of problem.

Hi

Thanks for the reply

An image can be seen @

www.cadfem.com/ogl.gif

The colour pic is what it should look like.

The wireframe is my first attempt.

The culling seems to be working but if I comment out the depth line there is no difference.

I may need to create a simple model and get my head round what is going on.

Thanks for the input

Julian

a-haaaaaa…so you want to display a hidden line view.

if you set polygon mode to GL_LINE, you will always see lines that should actually not be seen. what you have to do is something like:

glEnable(GL_POLYGON_OFFSET_LINE);
glPolygonMode(GL_FRONT_AND_BACK, GL_LINE);
glPolygonOffset(0., -2000.);
glColor3f(0., 0., 0.);