From 0

Sorry if this is not the right place.

I am totally new to OpenGl and it has been a long time since my programming courses.

Where can i find the information to get started? What compiler should i use? I tried to start with VC++ 2005 express but i got crazy. I want the easiest way to get started.

Can anybody give me a help?

Hopefully I make it through this stage so I can start asking questions ABOUT OpenGl! :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot

This is a good page for OpenGl beginners.

http://www.opengl.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page

Thanks, but i doenst tell me what to do. I dont know what to install or anything to be able to get started.

You might want to have a gander at the wiki. There you’ll find examples pertaining to OpenGL configuration and operation on several of the most common platforms.

In addition, a search on this board (or google) should prove fruitful (this question has been repeated ad nauseum). Look for “opengl context creation under X”, where X is the OS of choice.

Hope it helps.

Lok for Nehe sites

Nehe sites give me infor for a very old version of visual basic…it has nothing to do :S

thanks caveman, but i didnt find anything like what you mention in the wiki. Specially for windows.

I mean, what do i need to write and execute my first lines? I dont know it, and everywhere it seems as i should alredy know!

Thank you all for you time!

I didn’t quite understand if that is what you mean… So you would like to use visual basic with OpenGL?

I dont know what program i want to use.

I want the easyest way to start playing with OpenGl and explore its functions. I did object-oriented programming a long time ago, but if it is necesary I expect to to be able to learn fast.

So, the easier the better. If it is non object oriented i will have less trouble though.

Checking the wiki all i find are libraries that ar 8 years old, but not what i need to create my first program.