Help w/understanding image, texture, other "spaces"

Hi everyone,

I’m new to OpenGL and graphics programming in general. My linear algebra is ok, a little rusty maybe but I’m brushing up.

One thing that’s confusing me at present, probably because I’m new to this, is the talk I hear about image and texture “space”.

Some of the threads on these boards and the OpenGL usenet group have dealt with shadow creation, for instance, and how you can store depth information in a texture for later use. There’s talk aplenty of converting the texture’s “image space” (which I assume is synonymous with “texture space”) to world space, or camera space, or screen space…and it’s spacing me out. How do these conversions work?

I understand the basic 3D pipeline transformation (still a bit hazy but I grasp the essential world->camera->screen flowchart), but how can you extract useful 3D information from a texture, and where does “image space” come into it? Are there any lessons out there about how storing depth or other information in a texture (then later extracting it) works, because I can’t see it…simple ignorance on my part. Thanks for nudging me in the right direction.

The talk about the different “spaces” is definitely an advances topic. It is heavily used in hardware shaders when not using the standard texture & lighting pipeline of OpenGL.
World space is the space where you place your polygons etc.
View space a representation of worldspace as seen thru the camera.
Screenspace is the 2D representation equivalent in what you see on your screen.
“Texturespace” is used differently by different people and is not related to the above.

The spaces are simple concepts that are not advanced topics.