GLUT on Unix

I am a opengl newbie. My friend gave me a book that does most of its tutorials using the glut library. Up to this point, I have done all of my programming on Unix using the gnu compiler. Thus far, I have been unable to link the glut library in unix. I want a very portable program, but do I have to be more specific and use glx?
thanks all.

You’ll need to post a hell of a lot more information before anyone can help you.

Like, what kinds of things have you tried, and what errors did you get? What sort of Unix are you using? Linux? Solaris? HPUX?

I am actually using unix through telnet. I could not find the GL libraries on our users library directories, so I installed into my own account. when compiling, it isn’t finding the library.(cannont find/include file: <GL/glut.h> )- I have tried a direct link path and everything.

I am actually using unix through telnet.

And how on earth do you expect to run your application?

And this doesn’t tell me what kind of Unix you are using. What does “uname -a” say?

when compiling, it isn’t finding the library.(cannont find/include file: <GL/glut.h> )- I have tried a direct link path and everything.

Assuming you are using gcc, and assuming you put GL libs in ~/opengl, so that glut.h is actually ~/opengl/GL/glut.h, then you should do:

gcc -I~/opengl/ …

Again, if you want help, you should copy and paste at the very least the following things:

[li] exactly what command line you are using to compile.[/li]
[li] exactly where you put the OpenGL libs.[/li]
[li] exactly what errors you are getting.[/li]
[li] exactly what sort of Unix you are using.[/li]
Assuming that people are clairvoyent is a bad assumption.

[This message has been edited by rts (edited 11-05-2001).]

just F.Y.I.:

gcc -I~/opengl/ …

gcc won’t expand ~/ into {$HOME}/. At least, my version of gcc won’t do that.

(~/ expansion is only done by the shell, and only when ~ is preceeded by white space.)

cheers,
John