How to view object in centre

Hi,
I am pretty new to OpenGl and facing some basic difficulties.
I am visualizing some VRML files in openGL. These files are of some objects with different coordinates and connectivities. Everytime I render, I have to do some manual translation and scaling to get the object in the view window.Is there any way or any function in OpenGL, which can automatically render the object in the centre of the window everytime I render ?
Thanks in anticipation !

Depends… What is the range of coordinates relative to each axis? How do you have projection set up (i.e. glOrtho, glFrustum, gluProjection)? There isn’t a centering function in OpenGL. You should be able to change parameters of projection functions to get better results. Dependent on how big objects are, and where their coordinates place them initially. If the entire object is initially located far from center (0, 0, 0) then you could also adjust your entire set of vertices to be moved closer to center.

How about when you load the VRML file, parse it to get the center, hight, width and relative location of the object.

Once you know that you can have your program automaticaly set the scale, rotate, translate to put it in view.

Originally posted by vicks47:
Hi,
I am pretty new to OpenGl and facing some basic difficulties.
I am visualizing some VRML files in openGL. These files are of some objects with different coordinates and connectivities. Everytime I render, I have to do some manual translation and scaling to get the object in the view window.Is there any way or any function in OpenGL, which can automatically render the object in the centre of the window everytime I render ?
Thanks in anticipation !

nexusone’s suggestion is probably what you need. For a more thorough discussion, see this post: http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/Forum4/HTML/000870.html