Back face culling in GL

I am a student and for a project I have to implement back face culling. I understand the theory, but don’t understand how GL knows which way a polygon is facing. To make matters worse, I’m not allowed to directly use OpenGL, but must manually code it myself. If anyone knows how to go about this process, I would be VERY grateful!

It is actually a simple problem to solve with a little math. Compute a surface normal vector to the face and compute the dot product of the resulting normal with your look vector (from the camera to the face). If the dot product is negative, the face is facing away from the camera, if positive it is facing the camera.

Dot product, gotcha. Thanks for that.

If you have the coordinates for the triangle in screen-space, it should be even simpler:

Triangle points (set Z = 0): p1, p2, p3

Let V = (p2-p1) X (p3-p1)

If Z-component of V > 0, triangle is drawn counter-clock-wise.

If Z-component of V < 0, triangle is drawn clock-wise.

This can be simplified to:

facing = (p2.x-p1.x)(p3.y-p1.y) - (p2.y-p1.y)(p3.x-p1.x)

if facing > 0
counter-clock-wise
else
clock-wise
end if

Compute a surface normal vector to the face and compute the dot product of the resulting normal with your look vector (from the camera to the face).

I did this too, but it has not the exact result you want. If you use a “Look-vector” than that code would cull the poly if you look away from the poly. However in perspective mode you can still see such polys. So your code would cull the face a bit too early and it would just pop away and you can see this.

Use instead a positionvector of the camera.

Compute the dot-product with the normal of your face and one vertex of the poly (it doesn´t matter which one). This gives you a number, the distance of the polys plane to the origin. You have to do this only once because the poly doesn´t move.