PDA

View Full Version : How do I do this ???



Asshen Shugar
12-10-2000, 12:51 AM
Ok, I have a class that loads and renders .obj models.
A model are rendered through a display list.
Now my question :
Take e.g. that I define a cube that confines a couple of the vertices of one mesh (not all vertices !) Is there a way to select these vertices inside the box and do rotation on those only, and not to the entire mesh ???

Mail me if you have a solution to my problem...

Thank you,
Asshen Shugar
valheruasu@hotmail.com

Dave007
12-10-2000, 06:05 AM
Yes, there is a way!
try glModelView(GL_SELECTION) - search up
this topic in the MSDN!!

12-10-2000, 06:39 AM
No there is not a way because you cannot modify a display list

Sansus
12-10-2000, 09:22 AM
If you want to modify dynamically the coordinates of a mesh, the best way is using vertex arrays. They are faster than display lists, and modifying a coordinate of a vertex is as simply as modifying a field in an array.

Dodger
12-11-2000, 07:14 AM
Vertex arrays are not necessarily faster than display lists... depends on the size of lists/arrays and also on the used hardware.
You're right with being dynamic though http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif display lists can't be modified once generated.