View Full Version : trouble with spotlight

07-06-2001, 02:03 PM
i have the spotlight working but how come the shape of the light is not a round shape but instead a square or rectangle when it shines on a surface. I have my spot cut off set at 3.0. How can i fix the prob.

07-06-2001, 02:18 PM
One word...tessellate.

07-06-2001, 04:32 PM
The lighting for the spotlight is only computed per vertex, so if you shine it on a square with 4 vertices at the corners you won't get much of a spotlight effect, because the light is only being calculated at the 4 corners. To get proper spotlights you either have to make you square more detailed, ie lots of small triangles instead of 2 big ones, or use dynamic lightmapping