May sound stupid...

Im in a fix…

for my masters degree i gotto create a program which can extract a road network from a high resolution satellite image and then generate a 3d model of the road.

On my prof’s insitence i had to work in openGL,in which i know im a total novice :slight_smile:

now that the time is running out and im nowhere near completion.just managed to detect the road,that too not perfectly.

anyone to help me with a code ? is that a lot to ask ? sorry,if it is…

thanx anyway :slight_smile:

Hmmm, what data is your sat image giving you? Do you have depth data for this road? or are you just wanting to extract the road as a flat surface? have a look at glutesselate

I would go to nehe.gamedev.net it has alot of good tutorials especialy for beginers. You can email me any questions and or code, I am no pro but I do have a pretty good Idea what I am doing.

the data i get from the satellite image is a set of pixel coordinates which my code finds to be of similar pixel color value to the one chosen by the user when he clicks a valid road point on the image.

dheitbri, i can actually send u the zip file containing the codes if u would like to see…
it wouldnt be a good opengl code,anyway…but i have managed with what i learnt in the past few months :slight_smile:

any takers ??

buddy send me the file i am not an expert but i think i wil be able to help…give a slight description of your project
thanks…
my email...raza5680@hotmail.com

Originally posted by romeoneverdies:
any takers ??

hey ,
send me ur code.
pgp123@rediffmail.com

How to get such images???
I would be more than grateful if You gave me a hint,
bacause I am making a simulatin engine as my graduation work and need to create and texture a landscape, but I can’t find TEXTURES.
ma mail is:
stinger@loiv.torun.pl

LORD,
i donno if u are asking abt the images i use for my work.
if thats what u meant,u can find them in this link below.have fun :slight_smile: