The best way to draw a cube

I’m new to openGL and am have been successful at drawing a cube However, I’m concerned about the efficiency of which I drew the cube. Currently, this is what I’m doing:

I’m using vertex arrays, and filling it with 24 vertices (4 for each face). I was kinda hoping I would be able to just specify 8 vertices total, and then have it just figure it out itself… Is this possible? If so, can someone provide an example for me to work from?

Also, I’m not sure if this matters, but I do plan on using lighting in my program, so I’m not sure if this throws off any possible solutions.

Finally, I was reading somewhere that it would be better to store it as a set of triangles instead of rectangles. Is this the case?

TIA,
-Mike

First you can make a routine that only takes 8 vertex points and makes a cube, but in the routine you will still have to have 24 vertex defined for the cube to be drawn.

I think Triangles are processed somewhat faster, then quads when using hardware.

As for lighting,

Originally posted by mjriggio:
[b]I’m new to openGL and am have been successful at drawing a cube However, I’m concerned about the efficiency of which I drew the cube. Currently, this is what I’m doing:

I’m using vertex arrays, and filling it with 24 vertices (4 for each face). I was kinda hoping I would be able to just specify 8 vertices total, and then have it just figure it out itself… Is this possible? If so, can someone provide an example for me to work from?

Also, I’m not sure if this matters, but I do plan on using lighting in my program, so I’m not sure if this throws off any possible solutions.

Finally, I was reading somewhere that it would be better to store it as a set of triangles instead of rectangles. Is this the case?

TIA,
-Mike[/b]

I Had this same thought when i started opengl… Heres 2 good ideas
#1, use the cube function, opengl has a built in cube drawing function =P
#2, use 2 matricies.