Rotation around local axes.(Again)

Hi , everyone.
Im quite new to OpenGL and have moved from Direct3D retained mode.
I was going to use Immediate mode but OpenGL looks a lot more easy to use.
Now, the problem I have has been posted here before but it didnt help me at all.

I have a spaceship that must be able to rotate freely around all three local axes.
Now everyone says that I must use quaternions , right.
So I went to Gamasutra and find some really lousy text about Qs.
After some trial and error I got it to work , but the result is still the same , no
matter in which order I do the rotations .
As usual I guess that Im doing something wrong here , as usual , but I would really
like someone to explain this to me .
Thanks in advance !

Micke.

Do you mean the world is being rotated around its own origin instead of around the camera’s origin?

This happened to me, but I fixed it by calling glRotate before calling glTranslate.

Could you send some code ?? It should help us to explain you what is wrong…

Thanks

forget using glRotate use matrices instead.
euler angles dont cut it as youve discovered when u use all 3 axises.
try these two sites they should have a few explanations of matrixs. www.gamedev.net www.flipcode.com

Hi Zed.
According to the issue about quaternions I read on Gamasutra matrices are no good to use for rotations.
There was something about cumulative errors and gimbal lock.
Ive started using matrices once before but came up with the same result.

Anyway.I will check out your recommended sites.
Thanx :slight_smile:

Micke

Originally posted by zed:
forget using glRotate use matrices instead.
euler angles dont cut it as youve discovered when u use all 3 axises.
try these two sites they should have a few explanations of matrixs. www.gamedev.net www.flipcode.com