Load an .obj and modify it with your own matrix

Hey, this is a 2-part question, since I think the 2 parts go together.
Right now, I have this code:

glMultMatrixf(m);
glutWireTeapot(1.0);

m is my own matrix, which modifies the Teapot.

I need to:

1. Load an .obj file and use it instead of the teapot, and
  2. Apply my own matrix to the object.

I think I will figure out how to do part 2, as long as part 1 will give me a matrix with an object. Therefore, my question reduces to this: How can I load the object, so it will fit in my own matrix ? or better yet in GL’s matrix, if one exists ? I tried looking around, but haven’t been able to find exactly what I was looking for. I’ll appreciate any help. (I am trying to find out what I can and what I can’t do in OpenGL)

I’m new to OpenGL, so please be descriptive !

thanks ! :slight_smile:
Dennis

Hmmm, could you make your questions more specific? Anyways, i will try to help as best I can.

When you say you want to modify the matrix I assume you want to do some sort of transformation and probably a translation, rotation or scaling.
glTanslatef(float x, float y, float z)
glRotatef(float angle, float x, float y, float z)
glScalef(float x, float y, float z)
Those are the most basic and versatile functions there are. Scale with 0.5 values and your teapot will be half as big. Scale with 2.0 and your teapot will be twice as big. Specify an angle with Rotate and then set one of the three remaining parameters to 1.0 and the rest to 0.0. So if you wanted to rotate the teapot about the y axis by 23 degrees you would use glRotate(23.0, 0.0, 1.0, 0.0). Translate is very straight forward if you understand what the other two functions do.

Secondly, when you say .obj file i assume you mean from Maya. download the glut library. you can find it somewhere on this site. include glm.h and glm.c Now just use the following code in the suggested functions and you should be all set and remember to set at least one material for te model