PDA

View Full Version : set up a Scene



McZ
03-05-2002, 03:23 AM
how do I create a scene easy.. itīs not so fun to write the code fore every object I want in the scene... I want a simple way to load the static (non moving) objects and textures in a scene and the render it, and after that I render the moving objects or moves the camera or something. anyone have an idea how I can make this posible ? http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

yakuza
03-05-2002, 04:55 AM
Find/buy a 3D engine, or write your own?

chxfryer
03-05-2002, 03:12 PM
if your talking about loading 3d models and such, look for Milkshape 3d on the web. There are tutorials on www.gametutorials.com (http://www.gametutorials.com) or nehe.gamedev.net to load its native format. Supports animation too

McZ
03-05-2002, 11:36 PM
Originally posted by yakuza:
Find/buy a 3D engine, or write your own?

I am writing my own and I wanīt to load a group of objects with texture and there positions fast and easy.

nexusone
03-06-2002, 04:53 AM
First the idea behind using a pre-writen engine is that all the hard work of loading a model it taken care of(fast and easy as you asked). Think of using a 3D engine just like using GLUT or any other API.

If you really want to write one from scratch, then you also need to understand how the models are loaded. Take a look at how other people load the models and write your own routines. Or just copy the code for loading the models from someone else and place it in your engine.

:}



Originally posted by McZ:
I am writing my own and I wanīt to load a group of objects with texture and there positions fast and easy.