Easy Pixel Format Question

greetings,

I am a long time programmer who is finally taking the plunge ito open GL… I can’t get this simple program to behave the way I would expect it to. I’m simply trying to draw a 100x100 square full of randomly colored pixels. Instead, I get a square with randomly colored pixels, and a severe vertical striping type effect. I have tried everything I could think of with glPixelStorei, but It doesn’t change…

//Graphical "Hello World" routine : random square

glPixelStorei(GL_UNPACK_ROW_LENGTH, 100);
	glPixelStorei(GL_UNPACK_ALIGNMENT, 1);

GLubyte *Square[100*100*3];
	int i;

for(i=0;i<30000;i++){ 
		Square[i]=rand()%255;
	}

glRasterPos2i(0,0);

glDrawPixels(100, 100, GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE,Square);
glEnd() ;

THANKS FOR YOUR HELP GUYS!

Hi !

GLubyte *Square[100*100*3];  

How about using:

GLubyte Square[100*100*3];  

Instead ?

Your code allocates 30000 byte pointers, the second allocates 30000 bytes.

This means that each random value you put in there will use up 4 bytes NOT one as I assume you want.

The result would be 1 random colord pixel and 3 black pixels and then same thing over and over again, is this the problem you have ?

Mikael

Sounds like disabled v-sync. Set V-Sync to be enabled on default under windows. (Desktop->Right Click -> Properties -> Display Settings -> Advanced Settings).

Jan.

Thanks mikael_aronsson…

I knew it was something stupid like that!

I am learning Cocoa and oGL at the same time after many many years of C++ and Intel 13h graphics expereince. I know algoritms and theory but I’m a newbie once again in the actual implimentation and syntax. I’m trying to figure out the best way to hold large arrays for graphics. (Which can then be manipulated with my algorithms)

So in that note, what’s wrong with:

GLubyte Square[720*486*3];

The same program from above, when enlarged to 720x486 instead of 100x100 crashes.

thanks for your help guys