glViewport() unclear..

Hi all, I’m kind of new to OpenGL so please bear with me if you will. And excuse my stupidity if it anything I say seem to be such. I’m working on a program where I want to draw a grid in a glut window. However, I want to limit the viewing portion of the grid. I am using this to initialize my world window and viewport:

======================================
glMatrixMode ( GL_PROJECTION );
glLoadIdentity();
gluOrtho2D ( 0, 50, 0, 50 );
glViewport ( 10, 10, 500, 500 );

a note: my glut window is 600x600

now the problem is no matter how I change the glViewport function my viewing area still takes up the whole glut window(which basically fills a 50x50 square grid on the entire window.) but what I want is for this grid to be drawn within what my viewport had defined. so any clue where I’m doing it wrong? You help is much appreciated…

glLoadIdentity();
gluOrtho2D ( 0, 50, 0, 50 );
glViewport ( 10, 10, 500, 500 );

ok what you are doing here is saying

start viewport bottom left at 10,10 and size along the x axis is 500(width), also size along the y axis is 500(length)

now see the problem… you set ortho projection to use coordinates 0,0(bottomleft) -> 50,50(topright)

ok so when you now call your viewport you are trying to set a viewport of dimensions basically (500500) in an area of size only (5050)

ortho parameters go like this
left,right,top,bottom (clipping planes)

while viewport uses these parameters
start_x, start_y, length_x, length_y

to create a viewport that is 10 units in size in both directions

viewport(100,100,10,10); //start viewport at 100,100… size 10 lengtnx and lengthy