View Full Version : how would i load a model?

11-30-2001, 01:12 PM
how do i load a model into a world using opengl? i have the models...

11-30-2001, 01:47 PM
choose a format, I used .3ds but you can do whatever, then go to www.wotsit.org (http://www.wotsit.org)
and find a textfile explaining the format. Then write a function to load the vertex and face data. Depending on the format you may have to fill some stuff in, for example .3ds doesn't include normals, but you can calculate these yourself

12-01-2001, 07:34 AM
http://p-squared.com/Display3DS.zip for an VC++/MFC example that loads 3D Studio MAX (3DS) meshes.

12-01-2001, 05:47 PM
For milkshape there's a tutorial at that which is pretty good, well not so good but the sample source code is. http://home.clara.net/paulyg/objects.htm

Also at nehe.gamedev.net