256 cube help plz

ok. im extremely new to openGL so please be as “layman” as possible when it comes to help. any help however is much appreciated

im creating a 16x16x16 cube filled with smaler cubes. ivew managed to do this. ive also implemented a zoom and rotate feature. my problem is this.
i need to be able to draw a plane through any point and set everything in front of that as either transparent or as background so it becomes invisible.
if need be i will show my code for the cube.
please help me as im rubbish.
kind regards
rborob

Hi,

SOunds like you need a clip-plane. Basically, you can define a plane that will not allow anything drawn behind it (plane direction is defined by the normal vector).

FROM THE REDBOOK:

void glClipPlane(GLenum plane, const GLdouble *equation);

Defines a clipping plane. The equation argument points to the four coefficients of the plane equation, Ax+By+Cz+D = 0. All points with eye coordinates (xe, ye, ze, we) that satisfy (A B C D)M-1 (xe ye ze we)T >= 0 lie in the half-space defined by the plane, where M is the current modelview matrix at the time glClipPlane() is called. All points not in this half-space are clipped away. The plane argument is GL_CLIP_PLANEi, where i is an integer between 0 and 5, specifying which of the six clipping planes to define.

So, the trickiest part is determining the coefficients for the plane. A simple example would to clip fragments with a negative X would be:

GLdouble coefs[4] = { 1.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0 };

glClipPlane( GL_CLIP_PLANE0, coefs );
glEnable( GL_CLIP_PLANE0 );
// Draw geometry to clip
glDisable( GL_CLIP_PLANE0 );

Hope that helps!
-Rawk

ok ill try that during the weekend
thanks for help ill let you know how it goes

ok so how would i go about setting an input in my interface to handle any arguments? would i have an x, y, z input and have it draw the normal at those coordinates then clip it? what sort of code would i be looking at to do that for me if thats the case?