Difficult to understand stencil buffer

Hi all:
I read the red book but I still found it is difficult to understand the stencil buffer. How does the stencil buffer draw pictures in a restrict area? And how do the two functions

glStencilFunc(func, ref, mask);
glStencilOp(fail, zfail, zpass);

work? Why the mask value is always some strange value like 0xFFFFFFFF? What is that?

Could anybody explain it in some details please?

Thanks in advance!!!

I’m not really an expert in stencil. Anyway, let’s make a try.

First, this is not the stencil buffer that draws in a restricted area. It’s only used during the GL pipeline process to do some operations on the fragments.

When you enable the stencil buffer, all the fragments go to the chromatic buffer but also go to the stencil one (and of course the depth buffer one).

Regarding the function you specify, fragments will always, never… fill the stencil buffer. It depends on the func you specify but also the mask and the ref. Fragments will never fill in the stencil if the stencil value of that fragment has not its mask bits matching the mask you stipple in StencilFunc.
So if you want your part of the drawing to always fill in the stencil buffer, then you stipple StencilFunc (ALWAYS, 0x1, 0x1).
Now, StencilOp specifies how the incoming fragments will modify the stencil buffer. The threes values you stipple decide what to do when the fragment fails the stencil test, fail to the depth test and succeed to the depth test respectively.
So if for another part of the drawing you want your fragments to modify the stencil buffer only when they succeed to the depth test (taking in consideration previous values in depth test), then you can do something like that:
StencilOp (KEEP,KEEP,NEW_VALUE*) where NEW_VALUE must be a value different from what you had, ie incrementing…

Hope that could help.