Hi to everyone :-)

Hi,
I am new to OpenGL, so may be my question will sound as dumb as it’s possible :slight_smile:

I am trying to work with OpenGL in C++ environment, however it keeps telling me about every command: undefined reference to name of the command
I added the files gl.h, glu.h and glut.h to the lib directory, and included the in the begining of the file, but it still doesn’t work
what am I doing wrong???

Thank you very much,
Enchantress.

[This message has been edited by Enchantress (edited 05-07-2003).]

a) you do not have to add these files to the lib, but to the include directory

b) you have to link the opengl libraries to your application, how this is done depends on the operation system and the c++ development enviroment you are using.

First when you ask about a compiler problem please include the name and version of the compiler that you are using and operating system.

files with the .h go into the include, to be specific:

directory:
include/GL/
gl.h
glu.h
glut.h

lib/
opengl32.lib // microsoft VC++ and borland
glu32.lib
glut32.lib
// gcc and dev-c in windows
libopengl32.a
libglu32.a
libglut32.a
// linux gcc
libGL.a
libGLU.a
libglut.a

Also need to include in the linker settings, for the compiler to include needed library when compiling, on windows would look something like this:
opengl32.lib glu32.lib and if glut commands are used then glut32.lib

Originally posted by Enchantress:
[b]Hi,
I am new to OpenGL, so may be my question will sound as dumb as it’s possible :slight_smile:

I am trying to work with OpenGL in C++ environment, however it keeps telling me about every command: undefined reference to name of the command
I added the files gl.h, glu.h and glut.h to the lib directory, and included the in the begining of the file, but it still doesn’t work
what am I doing wrong???

Thank you very much,
Enchantress.

[This message has been edited by Enchantress (edited 05-07-2003).][/b]

Thank you sooo much :slight_smile: