How to rotate about FIXED axes?

Hi all.

I’m having some trouble modeling the rotational human shoulder joint.

The shoulder (or rather, arm) can rotate in the x, y and z axes. However, after each rotation, the axes are rotated too. Meaning that it’s very hard to tell which direction the next rotation is going to occur in.

How do I make the shoulder/arm rotate about a fixed x, y and z axis, regardless of it’s current orientation?

Thanks for any help. Need it badly.

You could call glLoadIdentity between your calls to glRotate

Sorry, already tried glLoadIdentity between rotates. Doesn’t work.

You see, I need to glTranslate down the rotated x-axis to draw the arm (and other connected appendages). After glLoadIdentity, the whole arm disappears.

But thanks for your suggestion, anyway.

Use (or rather think in) local coordinates.

Sounds like it might work - except that I’m still a beginner at this, and don’t really know the transformational matrices that would be required.

Any hints would be helpful …

If you haven’t already, read the chapter on transformations in the Red Book. If you don’t know what the Red Book is do a search on this forum for it and you’ll find a link to a downloadable version of it. I don’t have a link offhand because I actually bought the book. It’s an invaluable resource.

I’ve read the Transformation chapter in the red book. But I still can’t solve it.

A rotation, say about a fixed x-axis will rotate the local axes, right? So, how do you do ANOTHER rotation, on top of the first rotation, say, about the ORIGINAL x-axis?

It’s a little beyond me, since, after multiple consecutive rotations, I have little idea where the local x, y and z axes are w.r.t. the original x, y, z axes.

I’ve found someone’s web-page, where (s)he used something called Quarterions (???) to solve this problem. Since I have to submit my project REAL SOON ™, I won’t have the luxury of reading and understanding it. Too bad.