Sound

Hi,

How can I play lots of sound at the same time. PlaySound() is not enough, it can only play one sound.

Someone knows a librairy ?

OpenAL, BASS, or FMOD to name a few.

And, where can I found it ?

Sorry,
http://www.openal.org/

good luck at trying to get it to work!! Because I sure haven’t… probably because I am new to this sort of thing… but if you do get openAL working, e-mail me, ok??

personally I’d try FMOD or BASS. Because the API doesn’t change every month like OpenAL. It’s really not stable. Yet.

Sorry, I can’t use it.
I dont’t arrive to use it.

Help me with another librairy please

Oh, I’m glad it’s not just me… I think I’ve tried every OpenAL snapshot they’ve released, and never got any of the demos to work.

OK, it’s still in development. Fine. But I do wish they’d splash some big “WARNING PRE-ALPHA” signs on their website, or by the time the finished thing appears most of their potential users will have given up on it.

Offtopic, I know…

Where can I found another librairy ?

What about DirectSound?

Regarding OpenAL: I have not been able to get it to work as well and it is a shame as it appears to have so much potential.

DirectSound, ugh. Only works on Windows, very unstable in my experience, and personally I’d rather be hurled naked into a tub full of starving elephant leeches than program to a COM API ever again. But then maybe I’m just kinky that way.

FMOD is at http://www.fmod.org/ - it’s not open source like OpenAL, but it looks easy to use, the demos work, and I think there’s a Linux port in the works.

Hi,

Thanks to all for your help. I’ll try FMOD.

Hmm, it’s look like easy to use, powerful.

I hope that I can use it!

from the FMOD tutorials:
“FMOD Uses a left handed coordinate system, (x = right, y = up, z = forwards), which is the same as DirectSound3D, A3D, and OpenGL”

isn’t z negative as we look ahead, and positive behind us?? That seems to be opposite of FMOD… but they say it is not… what’s really true?