GNU C++

Hello, I’m new here!

Anyways, I’m currently in University and we use GNU C/C++ to do most of our assignments. I want to start learning about 3d programming and I was just wondering if I could use the OpenGL to create graphics using GNU C\C++? There’s a graphics library called Allegro taht I was playing around with once, but I want to learn OpenGL. If someone can explain to me how I can get started I’d appreciate it.

What platform are you using that on? The university I graduated from had RedHat Linux installed on some machines, and they actually had the OpenGL headers and libraries installed. I think the only reason they were installed was because the graphics programming class used VTK, which I think might rely on OpenGL underneath. Anyway, if you are on a Linux platform do something like so to find out if the OpenGL libraries are present…

locate libGL
locate gl.h

Or try and look in /usr/include/GL, /usr/lib, etc…

At home, I have a Suse box and I had to grab all the OpenGL development packages and setup the nVidia graphics drivers. (My Linux box has a GeForce 256)

Hello,
on Linux you have free OGL implementation called Mesa (www.mesa3d.org); and on Windows you have nicely GNU C/C++ port called MinGW (www.mingw.org).
In MinGW case, you get needed OGL libray, only you need to download .h files (they can be found on the net).
Also if you want to use Mesa on win, compiling will be easy with MinGW.

Sanel

For a good (?) overview of compilers and OpenGL drivers for Windows and Unix (e.g. Linux) go to http://hem.passagen.se/opengl/getstarted/ I use MinGW (GNU C/C++) under Windows. On the page you will find OpenGL includes that work with MinGW. You can also use Cygwin (another GNU C/C++ port for Windows) if you want.

If you’re just getting started with OpenGL, also check out GLFW , which is very helpful for setting up an OpenGL display.