What on earth are Fragments?

I’m studying the OpenGL frame buffer at the momment, and the word “Fragment” or “Fragments” appears so often…

How exactly am I to think of a fragment? As a pixel or clipped polygon or all of the above!?!..

The OpenGL spec gives a very clear definition of a fragment. From §2.4 of the OpenGL 1.2 spec:

The rasterizer produces a series of framebuffer addresses
and values using a two-dimensional description of a point, line segment, or
polygon. Each fragment so produced is fed to the next stage that performs
operations on individual fragments before they finally alter the framebuffer.

Think of it as a bundle of state used to update the framebuffer.

To quote you therefore, a fragment is a “2D description of a point, line segment or polygon…”

My question still is WHAT is a fragment?

I (now) know it is produced during rasterization … so it must be in the form of a pixel and not a polygon … YES or NO !

I know there are per vertex operations, per pixel operations and per fragment operations. That suggests to me that fragments are distict from bitmaps and “vertexed” entities (i.e. polygons) as well …

[This message has been edited by Olumide (edited 01-05-2002).]

A fragemnt is more or less a pixel.

A pixel is a point on the window, that has a color and a position.

A fragment also has info about the Z-value, stencil value, and other stuff needed to determine whether the pixel is supposed to be drawn or not. Say you draw a triangle, and parts of that triangle is occluded by another object. The whole triangle will generate fragments when rasterized, but some fragments is not drawn on the screen, because their Z-value is too large (rejected by the depth test), wrong stencil value (rejected by the stencil test), for example.

Per pixel operations is something that affect only the way the pixel appear on the screen. I.e., you can’t affect the Z-value in a pixel shader, because Z-value does not belong to a pixel.