Casting shadow on teapot

Hi, i am a novice with opengl and i would really welcome some advices. I want to cast a shadow of say, a sphere, on a teapot, but i am not sure how to go about doing it.

I intend to use projection to cast the shadow. That requires me to know the surface equation of the teapot. How could i go about defining the teapot surface?

Thanks!

It is a lot easier with a model of an object, and not a GLUT primitive.

This site should tell you everything you need to know about shadows. Make sure to note Carmack’s reverse, that’s critical for shadow accuracy.
http://developer.nvidia.com/object/cedec_stencil.html

harlo! thanks for giving me the website link, i am examining the article now.

just like to ask, what do u mean by:
"It is a lot easier with a model of an object, and not a GLUT primitive. "
Do you mean it is easier if i din call glutSolidTeapot(), but build it myself?

I hadn’t actually read what you typed correctly. You can render a shadow ONTO a teapot, but rendering the shadow of the teapot would be difficult because you don’t have the necessary information about the teapot (the faces and whatnot)… unless you had the model of the teapot.

BUT, to render a shadow onto the teapot is easy, just follow the text there.

Thanks! i have trying to write the code now.

hmm, i am rather confused now. It doesnt work when i implement the stenciling approach, so i must have intepretated something wrongly. I have a few questions:

1. Do we need to look at the scene from the light position before we fill the depth buffer with the depth values in the scene? it is not stated in the description but i thought it makes sense to do that…

2)The stenciling approach takes care of the shadow volume right? DO i need to explicitly find the polygons defining the shadow volume?

3)I am using a 2D polygonal plane as the occluder. will it affect the stencil value within the shadow volume, as it has only 1 face (no front and back faces)?

Thanks…