I can't Texture!

I am having a terrible time trying to learn how to texture map a bmp file to a polygon. Every book I read is like “its simple, we’ll assume you know how to load in the bmp file. Now that that is done, use these wonderful OpenGL functions to map it onto your polygon!”. Wait a second! Load the bmp? Huh? I’m a quasi-good programmer in C++. I’ve been buying and reading several books trying to learn this little technique and cant figure it out. I understand all the GL stuff you can do, but how do I get the bmp file loaded so I can use it??? Please email me if there are some easy to read resources out there on that, or if you have a good explanation. Thanks.

Ace Corbain

Hi

You have two options at this point :

1/ you want to load the bmp yourself
1.1/ you want to learn the BMP file format : you’ll find information here http://www.wotsit.org . Once you know the file format, you can load the data into memory to be used as a texture in GL.
1.2/ you don’t care about the format, and want to use one of the wonderful Win32 API functions : LoadImage(). Look through the MSDN and you’ll figure out how it works.

2/ you prefer to use a library to handle this. I personnaly use DevIL (formerly known as OpenIL). It handles a lot of image formats and does just what I need :wink: Have a look here : http://www.imagelib.org

at hene.gamedev.net they have a good tutorial on this. Heres some simple code for doing it. The hard part is loading the damned image file. GLUAX has a nice function for loading bmp’s. It is of course the only reason any why anyone ever uses GLUAX anymore, just for that one function.
glGenTextures(1, &barID); // Create The Texture
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, barID);
gluBuild2DMipmaps ( GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_RGB, bar->sizeX,
bar->sizeY, GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, bar->data);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D,GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER,GL_LINEAR);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D,GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER,GL_LINEAR);