Depth problem with translating screen coords to world coords

Hello,

I’m pretty new to all of this stuff, so please excuse the inexperience of this question.

I am translating mouse coordinates to world coordinates using glReadPixels then gluUnProject. And it converts the coordniates nicely.

The issue is that when I’m capturing them, the mouse is dragging an object and when I move the mouse back and forth while dragging the object, the object is actually getting closer and closer to the camera (but it doesnt actually look like it, very strange). Something is happening with the depth that is far beyond my understanding. I would think that what should happen is that if I dragged the mouse a certain distance to the right and that same distance to the left, the object should be in the same place as when I started. It appears to be that way, but if I rotate the scene, it shows that the object has moved closer to the camera.

I know its probably fairly difficult to get an understanding of what exactly I’m talking about. If you want I can post the code, its relatively short.

Thanks for your help,
Bryan

Originally posted by Bryan:
[b]Hello,

I’m pretty new to all of this stuff, so please excuse the inexperience of this question.

I am translating mouse coordinates to world coordinates using glReadPixels then gluUnProject. And it converts the coordniates nicely.