Help with Vertex Arrays, CVA'S, GL_ATI_vertex_array_object

Hi…I need some advice regarding a few issues.
I’m a newbie at this, so bare with me…
I’m using opengl in c++. This is in my brother’s Pc, a Duron 800 mhz with a Radeon 8500.

I’ve done a cloth demo a few days ago and started coding my first terrain demo. So far so good, everything’s working fine, except performance.

I’m basically rendering a 128128 vertex grid. So that gives me about 127127*2 triangles=32258 triangles.

My problem is this. At first i was only using imediat mode just to make sure everything was loading fine, and i had my heightmap values correctly (i do scaling and repositioning when i create the vertex array).

Now , this is what i found out.

Not using any kind of frustum culling, just tossin all those 32k triangles to the card in imediate mode (with single texturing, no lighting), i was getting:

85 fps using GL_TRIANGLES
110 fps using GL_QUADS

So i thought that with vertex arrays things would go faster. I normally use interleaved arrays, but as i was going to use multitexture, i would have 2 texture coord arrays, therefore to make things easier and cleaner i made everything in separate arrays.

And as i never used indexed arrays, i wanted to try them, so…

So i created a VertexArray with all the coord of all the vertex in the heightmap, and a IndexArray with the indices for each triangle.

When rendering , i got …45 fps… :[

Then i tried CVA’s, i now it’s only good for multiple passes, but what the heck…i gained about 5 fps…

Then i started thinking…I’m sending all the data to the card each frame, right…SO what if i placed the data on vid mem?..

Since then i’ve read just about everything i could find about that, including several (and do mean SEVERAL) messages in many many foruns.

So i learned about VAR’s and NV extensions…But i have a Radeon 8500, therefore i can not use VAR nor fences.

Finally i learned about GL_ATI_vertex_array_object and GL_ATI_element_array.